Corpses and Cogs

My life is recently awash with new and exciting media!

1) Watchmen:

Finally getting around to reading it, and I gotta say, I am loving every minute of reading it. I really am disappointed in myself that I watched the movie first. I think Moore’s work is just as relevant now as it was when he wrote it; troubled social and economic times, uncertainty in the government’s military intentions, people going crazy, etc. I’m looking forward to watching the movie again and nit-picking at it once I’m done.Very good read! It really is a novel for comics. Hell, its a straight-up novel.

2) “The Black Parade” – My Chemical Romance

Ok, I admit that I had a couple of MCR’s songs in my iTunes for the longest time solely as a guilty pleasure, but after I popped “The Black Parade” into the car’s CD player during a roadtrip, I was hooked on it! I know MCR has a huge stigma for being an emo band, and while their aesthetic doesn’t do much to dissuade this idea, their sound is pure Rock. Their instrumentals are complex and haunting while Gerard Way’s voice soars above and over the melodious cacophony with intriguing and imagery-evoking lyrics. As surprised as I am to write this, this album is very reminiscent of Queen, David Bowie and Guns N’ Roses.


3) Wormwood Gentleman Corpse


Beautifully rendered and masterfully written, Ben Templesmith’s work is a true joy to read. Zany and rich characters matched with like art styles has made for yet another comic series to add to my growing collection. Supernatural comedies hold a special place in my brain, and a story about a worm which has possessed a rather well-dressed corpse accompanied by a clockwork companion that resembles a member of ZZ Top is no exception. I haven’t been this influenced by an artist’s style since I discovered Mike Mignola. To quote the forward by David Slade, “…tentacles-a-plenty, sex, guns, demons, and beer. What more does one want from a 21st century graphic novel?” This will be going right next to my Hellboy library!

4)Bioshock 2 (Multiplayer)

While the story mode is amazing, the multiplayer is where this game really shines. Once you level out of chump-land and get some decent gear, the game really gets fun. While the classic 1-2 Punch of ElectroBolt and Shotgun never goes out of style, being able to teleport, nail someone with a crossbow and (my personal favorite) cover someone IN FREAKIN’ BEES is just too much fun.

I’m off to get some prints done. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

